Dhaka, Monday, April 23, 2018


National : *** PM returns home ***   |   International : ** At least 32 Chinese killed in North Korea bus crash ** Suicide attack on Kabul voter registration centre kills 57 **   |   

Historic Mujibnagar Day observed in Ctg

CHITTAGONG, April 17, 2017 (BSS) - Different social, cultural and political organizations observed the historic Mujibnagar Day in Chittagong city and its adjacent districts in a befitting manner today.

On April 17 in 1971, Bangladesh government-in-exile took oath at Baidyanathtala mango grove in Meherpur, in the then Kushtia district.

Local units of Bangladesh Awami League (AL) observed the day with due respect.

Marking the day, AL leaders and workers hoisted national and party flags atop all party offices in Chittagong and placed wreaths at the portraits of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and four national leaders in the city's Darul Fazal Market area this morning.

A discussion was organized by Chittagong City Unit AL at central Shahid Minar this afternoon with former City Mayor and city unit AL President A B M Mohiuddin Chowdhury presided over it.

City Unit AL General Secretary and City Mayor A Z M Nasir Uddin, AL leaders Noymuddin Chowdhury, Mahtab Uddin Chowdhury, Khurshed Alam Sujan, Altaf Hossain Baccu and Advocate Iftekhar Saimul, among others, spoke on the occasion.

People of all walks of life including politicians, educationists and freedom fighters also attended the function.

Speakers in their discussion paid glowing tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and four national leaders who immensely contributed to the liberation war in the country.

Recalling enormous importance of the historic day, the speakers said the War of Liberation got a specific dimension on this day in 1971 when the provisional government in exile took oath at Baiddonathtola in Meherpur.

Syed Nazrul Islam took oath as the acting President in the absence of Bangabandhu, Tazuddin Ahmad as the first Prime Minister, while Khandaker Mostaq Ahmed, Captain M Mansur Ali and AHM Quamaruzzaman as the cabinet ministers.

Meanwhile, another discussion meeting organized by the district administration was held at the auditorium of the Deputy Commissioner's (DC) office this noon with DC Mohammad Shamsul Arefin in the chair.

Chittagong North and South district AL also organized separate discussion meetings at their party offices in the city's Newmarket and Amdarkilla area respectively.

Earlier, Bangabandhu Sanskritic Jote also organized a discussion at the city's Theatre Institute auditorium this noon.